About the Council


BreascleteThe object of the Council is to promote the well-being of the community in the Breasclete Community Council area by ascertaining, co-ordinating and expressing to the local authorities, and to public authorities, the views of the community and by taking such action in the interest of the community as appears to be expedient and practicable. The government is keen to raise the profile of community councils and this may lead to a more active role for them in the future.

Election to the council is held in accordance with the provisions of the Representation of the People Act 1983 and the rules made hereunder as amended or re-enacted by subsequent legislation so far as they relate to the local government elections and in accordance with the provisions made under the Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils.

All meetings of the Council and of Committees and sub-Committees thereof shall be open to all persons resident within and registered as local government electors in the area of the Council, who shall have a right to speak at such meetings, subject to the authority of the Chairman, except that the Council or Committees or Sub-Committees as appropriate may by resolution agree to consider in private any items of business of a private or confidential nature. Other members of the public shall be permitted to speak at formal meetings only with the leave of the Chairman.

Breasclete Community Council was first established in July 2001 with six elected members from the local community. The current members are:-

Kenny J. MacLennan, Ron McCranor, Jinty Morrison, Joanna Morrison, Mette Paterson, Angus Smith.

Angus Alex MacKenzie – Chairman, John Murdo Smith – Treasurer, Noreen MacDonald – Clerk

Councillors for the Breasclete areas are Alex A. MacDonald, Annie MacDonald and Norman A. MacDonald

Meetings are held on the first Wednesday of each calendar month at 7pm in the Breasclete Community Centre, which the public are cordially invited to attend.

To contact Council Clerk – Noreen MacDonald

Telephone: 01851 621214 email: noreen@toucansurf.com